Nav view search




About Us


The mission of the E-ZPass Group is to enable E-ZPass members and affiliated toll operators to provide the public with a seamless, accurate, interoperable electronic method of paying tolls and fees while preserving and enhancing the E-ZPass program.


Our vision is to become the preeminent toll collection program that advances interoperability throughout North America.


In 1987, several toll agencies in the Northeast Corridor spanning New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania began to explore the potential regional application of an emerging technology known as Electronic Toll Collection (ETC). ETC is a technological advance that allows a motorist traveling on a participating toll facility to pay his/her toll automatically from a prepaid account without having to fumble for cash or retrieve and present a toll ticket. By placing a small electronic tag on a windshield of a car, that car can pass through a toll lane equipped with a “reader” that collects and transmits customer account status electronically to the appropriate toll agency and the correct toll is charged to or credited against that customer’s account.

In 1990, seven toll facilities from the states of New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania joined to form an alliance known as the E-ZPass Interagency Group (IAG). These seven agencies represented almost 40% of all U.S. toll transactions and nearly 70% of all U.S. toll revenue. This unprecedented cooperative effort included representatives from the New Jersey Highway Authority (operator of the Garden State Parkway), the New Jersey Turnpike Authority, the New York State Thruway Authority, the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission, the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, the South Jersey Transportation Authority (operator of the Atlantic City Expressway), and the MTA Bridges and Tunnels. The IAG’s goal was to implement a regionally compatible, non-interfering electronic toll collection system that would not only satisfy the divergent toll collection and traffic management needs of the seven participating agencies, but would also provide regional mobility and convenience to their customers.

Today the E-ZPass Program is the largest, most successful interoperable toll collection program anywhere in the world consisting of toll agencies/companies in 16 states, servicing more than 20 million accounts, 34 million tags and the collection of over $9 billion dollars in electronic toll revenues.

The E-ZPass Program has continued to be innovative by implementing E-ZPass Plus which makes paying for parking at participating airports and garages easier along with E-ZPass-on-the-GO, a convenient package that contains a prepaid tag ready for use that is sold at convenient locations such as participating local convenience stores, rest areas, DMV's or simply ordering online.

The Executive Management Committee consists of the following member agency representatives:


Member Agency/Company Represented
Thomas Boyle Buffalo Fort Erie Public Bridge Authority
Stanley Ozalis Burlington County Bridge Commission
Laura Kelley Central Florida Expressway
Victor R. Buono Delaware Department of Transportation
Gerry DiNicola Owens Delaware River & Bay Authority
Charles Stracciolini Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission
Patricia Griffey Delaware River Port Authority
Greg Bedalov Illinois State Highway Toll Authority
Nicolas Barr Indiana Toll Road Concession Company
Megan McLain Kentucky Public Transportation Infrastructure Authority
Stephen Collins Massachusetts Department of Transportation
Deborah Sharpless Maryland Transportation Authority
Richard Somerville Maine Turnpike Authority
Mildred Chua-Ulger Metropolitan Transportation Authority Bridges & Tunnels
Kenneth Bieger Niagara Falls Bridge Commission
John Corcoran New Hampshire Department of Transportation
Stanley Ciszewski New Jersey Turnpike Authority
Robert Russo New York State Bridges Authority
Eric Christensen New York State Thruway Authority
Beau Memory North Carolina Turnpike Authority
Dave Miller Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission
Mark Muriello Port Authority of New York & New Jersey
Craig Shuey, Chairman Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission
Buddy Croft Rhode Island Turnpike & Bridge Authority
Joel T. Falk South Jersey Transportation Authority
Fernando Redondo Skyway Concession Company, LLC
John Lawson Virginia Department of Transportation
Greg Barr West Virginia Parkway Authority


PJ Wilkins
Executive Director


Linda Wiedenmann
Office Manager



Jake Royer
Technology Manager

E-ZPass 2005 thru 2016 Statistics
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016
Accounts 6,502706 9,600,085 10,429,543 11,015,217 11,760,783 12,557,566 13,490,592 14,593,061 15,777,640 16,937,622 18,447,592 20,114,710
Transponders 13,040,769 15,976,890 17,375,384 18,167,554 19,540,223 20,978,547 22,495,737 24,321,324 26,336,071 28,224,832 30,557,524 32,760,172
E-ZPass Transactions 2,009,731,027 2,195,440,202 2,195,007,052 2,228,452,491 2,296,822,923 2,381,673,573 2,446,340,860 2,489,591,587 2,599,143,439 2,704,885,769 2,876,186,594 3,029,072,698